3,015 messages sent to MPs

Wales’ representatives call for a meaningful vote on the final Brexit deal

Other reads

Peter Gilbey

Councillors, AMs, MPs and MEPs from across the political spectrum have united in calling for a #PeoplesVote on the final Brexit deal.

Wales was promised a whole host of things by Vote Leave during the 2016 EU referendum.

We were promised we wouldn’t be worse off; we were promised that our funding would continue; we were promised £350m a week for the NHS.

It’s clear that these promises will not be kept.

In June 2016, Wales – and the UK – voted for Brexit. As campaigners for Remain, we regret that, but we also accept it.

The issue now is what we think about the Brexit deal that the Prime Minister brings back. Will it be the right deal for the people of Wales and the rest of the UK? Will it secure a good future for our young people and allow them to thrive? Will it help protect and grow the number of well-paid, highly-skilled, jobs that Wales needs?

One thing we already know is that many of the promises made during the referendum campaign are not going to be kept. There will be no £350 million a week for the NHS. There will not be any new trade deals ready to sign as soon as we leave.

And we know there are whole rafts of issues that were never, or hardly ever, discussed in the referendum which are now extremely important. The Irish border is one, and that is one that matters for Wales because our ports could suddenly find themselves as part of a hard-economic border with Ireland. There are many others.

For all these reasons we are coming together, on a cross-party basis, to speak out for the people of Wales and to demand, for them, and for everybody else in the UK, a People’s Vote on the final Brexit deal.

The final Brexit deal will be the real deal and it will be too big to ignore. It will be too big, too, to be only left to MPs in Parliament. There must now be a People’s Vote.

Time is short. We urge everyone in Wales of goodwill, from all parties and none, to stand with us in calling on our MPs to pledge their support for a People’s Vote on the final Brexit deal.

Alun Davies AM (Blaenau Gwent; Local Government Secretary)

Ann Jones AM (Vale of Clwyd; Y Dirprwy Lywydd)

David Rees AM (Aberavon; Chair EAAL Committee)

Joyce Watson AM (Mid & West Wales)

Kirsty Williams AM (Brecon & Radnorshire; Education Secretary)

Leanne Wood AM (Rhondda; Leader, Plaid Cymru)

Lee Waters AM (Llanelli)

Lynne Neagle AM (Torfaen; Chair, CYPE Committee)

Mike Hedges AM (Swansea East; Chair CCERA Committee)


Derek Vaughan MEP (Wales)

Jill Evans MEP (Wales)


Ann Clwyd MP (Cynon Valley)

Anna McMorrin MP (Cardiff North)

Chris Bryant MP (Rhondda)

Geraint Davies MP (Swansea West)

Jo Stevens MP (Cardiff Central)

Jonathan Edwards MP (Carmarthen East & Dinefwr)

Liz Saville-Roberts MP (Dwyfor Meirionydd)

Owen Smith MP (Pontypridd)

Paul Flynn MP (Newport West)

Stephen Doughty MP (Cardiff South & Penarth)

Susan Elan Jones MP (Clwyd South)

Tonia Antoniazzi MP (Gower)


Cllr Anthony Hunt (Leader, Torfaen County Borough Council)

Cllr Andrew Morgan (Leader, Rhondda Cynon Taf Council)

Cllr David Poole (Leader, Caerphilly County Borough Council )

Cllr Debbie Wilcox (Leader, Newport City Council & Leader, WLGA)

Cllr Ellen ap Gwynn (Leader, Ceredigion Council)

Cllr Huw Thomas (Leader, Cardiff Council)

Cllr Rob Jones (Leader, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council)

Cllr Rob Stewart (Leader, Swansea Council)